Studio Dreams Come True

Hello Kith and Kin,

I’m writing you from Gung-Ho Studio, where Mollie and I are recording Douglas County Daughters’ first studio album, “Going Home.”  After Days #1 and #2 we have successfully laid down drum and piano tracks for all ten songs that made the final cut for the album.  Moving into days #3 and #4 we now bring in guest musicians on bass, fiddle, and guitar for half-days, spending the other half doing our favorite part: singing!

Our previous recording experiences to date have prepared us perfectly to take full advantage of the tools and expertise at our finger tips today.  Among other things, we were able to budget our time and expenses to successfully fundraise the costs of recording, mixing, and duplicating this album ahead of time.  For that, we THANK OUR BACKERS who gave us funds over Kickstarter, at our fundraising events, and/or during our online auction.  Quite literally, we would not be here without you!

We are currently posting behind-the-scenes video updates on Kickstarter for those financial contributors to enjoy a sneak peak of the process and products of this investment. Text updates are keeping ourFacebook friends and fans in the know.  Soon, all the videos will be available on our website through You Tube.

A final and giant thanks to the musicians who are donating their time and talent to make “Going Home:” Jake Beckwith (fiddle, Alder Street), Scoop McGuire (bass, The Porch Band), and Billy Barnett (guitar, Mood Area 52). These amazing musicians are elevating our album with their musicianship and generously giving their time and energy free of charge because they believe in us, and this album.  We know you’ll enjoy their work when “Going Home” is released.  We humbly offered them homemade cookies to symbolize the warmth of our gratitude.  Thanks to the Douglas County Mother for baking them up fresh. And by following the recipe here, now you can bake them up fresh for your friends and loved ones too!



Cowboy Cookies

1 C. butter
1 C. canola oil
1 C. light brown sugar
1 C. granulated sugar
1 egg
2 tsp. vanilla
1/2 tsp. butter flavoring opt.
3 1/2 C. flour
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. cream tartar
1 C. quick oats
1 C. puffed rice cereal
1 12 oz. semi sweet choc. chips ~ stir these in

Mix in order given in electric mixer.
*Don’t overdo the last 3 ingredients in mixer.
Drop in balls on greased or Teflon cookie sheet
Bake 12-14 min. at 350 or till golden brown.  Makes lots and freezes well.
Bet ya can’t eat just one!

twitter facebook youtube pinterest soundcloud email spotify instagram itunes